Log in

Congratulations to the NITOP 2023 Poster Award Winners!

The Frank Costin Memorial Award for Excellence

Leamarie Gordon, Assumption University and Trina Kershaw, Univ. of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Poster: “Implementing Practice Assignments to Reinforce Concept Learning and Improve Research Comprehension”

The Doug Bernstein Award

Frank Ferraro, Midland University

Poster: “Instructor-Written Essays to Enhance an Introductory Psychology Course”

The Scholarship for Teaching and Learning Award

Krista Muis et al.,

McGill University

Poster: Overcoming Confusion: An Intervention for Psychology Students During Statistics Learning and Problem Solving

NITOP 2023 Honorable Mention


Kylie Zangla, Rebecca Walton, and Kathleen West, Winthrop University

In recognition of the inclusion of undergraduate students in their poster entitled,

“Packback Interaction in an Introductory Psychology Course”


Past Award Winners

Each year, the National Institute on the Teaching of Psychology gives three awards.  Each winner receives a certificate and a complimentary registration at a future NITOP conference. 

The Frank Costin Memorial Award for Excellence:  for the poster judged as best promoting quality teaching methods.

The Doug Bernstein Award:  for the poster judged as the most humorous, creative, or original, or as making the strongest contribution to the teaching of introductory psychology

The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award: for the poster judged to be the most outstanding in terms of (a) the importance of the research question addressed, (b) the soundness of the research methodology employed, (c) the use of appropriate qualitative and/or statistical analyses, and (d) the clarity with which the implications of the research findings for teaching and learning are expressed.

NITOP is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. Contact:         NITOP, P. O. Box 963, Northport, AL  35476

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software